RNCM Symphony Orchestra at Royal Northern College of Music

RNCM Symphony Orchestra

When dark human emotions and music are at a crossroads, the most powerful listening experiences are created. This is perhaps why Britten’s Sea Interludes continue to be so enduring. Originally written for scene changes in Peter Grimes, Britten reworked four of the six pieces into stand-alone orchestral works – each portraying a different time of day at sea enveloped in a cloud of doom and foreboding.

Julia Perry’s A Short Piece for Orchestra acts as its own interlude in this programme, changing direction by adding vibrancy and energy. Learn more about how we are celebrating the American composer and her work in our In Focus series. Her piece is the perfect foil to Britten and a complimentary segue into Keiko Abe’s show-stopping concerto for marimba.

Of course Walton’s symphonic masterpiece is truly the climax of this event. With a desire to ‘knock Bax off the map’ William Walton set out to write his first symphonic work. Four years later, his turbulent personal life became firmly etched in what can only be described as a symphonic eruption of sorrow. Bore out of a devastating emotional wound, his four-movement work is the embodiment of the breakdown of his relationship with Imma von Doernberg.

Benjamin Britten Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes Op 33a
Julia Perry A Short Piece for Orchestra *
Keiko Abe Prism Rhapsody for marimba and orchestra
William Walton Symphony No 1 in B flat minor

Baldur Brönnimann, Jakub Przybycień conductors
Ho Yin Wong marimba
RNCM Symphony Orchestra

Get the latest news from Oxford Road in your inbox