The Hallé – Bruch’s Violin Concerto at The Bridgewater Hall

The Hallé – Bruch’s Violin Concerto
The Bridgewater Hall
18th May 2022

Prices from £14.50 to £44.50

  • Wheelchair Accessible
Get here sustainably

Book Now »

The Hallé - Bruch's Violin Concerto

Williams – Symphonic poem, ‘Penillion’
Bruch – Violin Concerto No.1
Tchaikovsky – Symphony No.5

Jamie Phillips

Sophia Jaffé, violin

Jamie Phillips, former Hallé Associate Conductor, begins the concert with a characteristic work by Grace Williams, the leading Welsh composer of the middle decades of the last century, who was said to have ‘brought the music of Wales to the World.‘ Her Penillion is a colourful four-movement symphonic poem, its title referring to a centuries-old traditional Welsh improvised performance practice. Sophia Jaffé has regularly performed with the Hallé over the past decade gaining critical plaudits such as ‘impassioned’ and ‘sumptuous’; she returns to play Bruch’s ever-popular First Violin Concerto. All four movements of Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony are haunted by a recurring theme symbolising Fate. From it he shaped a work of elemental power and drama, by turn impassioned and tender, that never fails to stir audiences’ emotions.

Get the latest news from Oxford Road in your inbox