What's On

Filter Events
Jun 2022 Manchester Histories Festival – Expansion rebellion
Manchester Central Library | 9 June 2022

Author Celeste Hicks in conversation with Dr Jenna Ashton about her new book on using the law to fight a runway and save the planet.

Jun 2022 Sir Robert Scott Book Launch: ‘Win a Few, Lose a Few’
HOME | 9 June 2022

In this free event, Bob Scott looks back on an unusual life with several careers.

Apr 2022 Dr. Yan Wang Preston in-conversation with Thomas Dukes
Castlefield Gallery | 10 April 2022

Dr. Yan Wang Preston introduces the photographic series, English Gardens, and talks about her research into why the landscape looks the way it does.

Mar 2022 Museums and Galleries Responding to the Climate and Ecological Crisis
The Whitworth | 7 – 8 March 2022

Museums and Galleries Responding to the Climate and Ecological Crisis asks what can museums do to reduce their environmental impact.

Feb 2022 A Masterclass: Queer History with Prof Charles Upchurch
Manchester Central Library | 24 February 2022

Pioneering research by US Historian Charles Upchurch asks when did the popular ‘GAY’ LGBT+/Human Rights Campaign really start?

Feb 2022 ‘Art, AIDS, Activism’: David Wojnarowicz, Stuart Marshall & Kia LaBeija
Manchester School of Art | 17 February 2022

Greg Thorpe discusses the work of 3 visual artists whose work on HIV and AIDS politicise(d) the virus in ways that are inextricably linked.

Feb 2022 Derek Jarman: FILM CANVAS WRITING POLITICS AND NOW!!
Manchester School of Art | 8 February 2022

To mark his 80th birthday, this panel discussion on Derek Jarman coincides with the major exhibition of his work at Manchester Art Gallery.

Feb 2022 ¡No Pasarán! – North West International Brigade Memorial Group
Manchester Central Library | 12 February 2022

North West International Brigade Memorial Group invite you to ¡No Pasarán!, a day of commemoration of those who fought in the Spanish Civil War.

Jan 2022 Queer Joy and Radical Acts: Greater Manchester LGBTQ+ Arts and Culture Network Conference 2022
HOME | 19 January 2022

Queer Joy and Radical Acts is a day of discussion, provocation and inspiration, exploring issues affecting LGBTQ+ communities.

Nov 2021 SWASHBUCKLERS – Dan Hanks in conversation with Gemma Amor
Blackwell's Bookshop | 25 November 2021

Blackwell’s Bookshop host the launch of Dan Hanks’ latest novel SWASHBUCKLERS – a nostalgic, wintery story perfect for fans of Ghostbusters, Gremlins and Stranger Things!

Oct 2021 Festival of Ideas: Algorave revealed
Online | 21 October 2021

British musician and co-founder of algorave Alex McLean joins new media artist and curator Antonio Roberts online,, from 4-5pm on 21 October to discuss algorave with fellow contributors.

Oct 2021 Festival of Ideas: Tim Etchells & Sabina Sabolović
Online | 23 October 2021

Tim Etchells joins Sabina Sabolović, director of Kunsthalle Vienna and part of the Zagreb-based curatorial collective What, How & for Whom, for an online conversation.

Oct 2021 A Night of Crime: Will Dean and Joseph Knox
Blackwell's Bookshop | 5 October 2021

Blackwell’s Bookshop presents an evening of crime fiction with authors Will Dean and Joseph Knox who’ll be discussing their latest novels.

Oct 2021 Robin Ince – The Importance of Being Interested
International Anthony Burgess Foundation | 8 October 2021

Blackwell’s Bookshop presents an evening with comedian Robin Ince at the International Anthony Burgess Foundation to launch his new book, The Importance of Being Interested.

Sep 2021 Ben Aaronovitch in Conversation: 10th Anniversary Rivers of London.
International Anthony Burgess Foundation | 13 September 2021

Blackwell’s Bookshop host a special evening at IABF with Ben Aaronovich, celebrating 10-years of his novel, Rivers of London.